Dad & Me

Dad

Be quick to hear and slow to speak.
Be slow to become angry.
What I heard from the Bible,
I saw in dad.

To live justly, love mercy
and walk humbly with your God.
This picture clear in my mind,
painted by the sound of dad’s prayers thanking God for his grace, mercy and forgiveness

Clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness
humility, gentleness and patience.
These clothes my dad wears,
and dressed me in as a child,
with my purple cowboy boots.

Dad taught me speaking is more than just forming words,
Walking is more than just taking steps,
Dressing is more than just putting on clothes.
Life is more than just waking up each day.

Love must be sincere. For God is love.
Love must be learned from a model.
I can love now because I was loved first.
I know the love of one Father through another.
Thanks, Dad, for such a gift.

Share your thoughts

