Exodus 13

In this chapter, the Lord dictates to Moses new rituals– a feast, sacrificing first born animals and redeeming first born sons. I’ve often questioned why God gave instructions for so many rituals in the Old Testament. I’ve also wondered if it is cultural differences that explain the need for them at that time and reducing their prominence in today’s time. I know that the Lord’s Supper is meant to be a reminder of Jesus’ sacrifice and a reminder to self-evaluate, but I’ve had trouble understanding other rituals in the Bible and rituals practiced by religious groups that I am unfamiliar with.

It is clear in this chapter that the rituals are meant to remind the people and their children of God’s salvation for them, just like the Lord’s Supper. It is so easy for me to forget what God has done for me. This chapter helped me better understand the importance of incorporating reminders, both in my daily life and in weekly worship. After reading about different religious groups that regularly practice fasting and have ritualistic worship, I can understand why those practices could be very helpful to spiritual growth. Rituals can help teach, refocus and while they might not inspire passion every time, they do have the ability reignite passion when practiced with a willing heart.

Share your thoughts

